9 Comments

I'd probably tell my past self that my story matters, and that it's better to risk being "wrong" or "stupid" than hold back.

Expand full comment
author

Good stuff. 🙌

Expand full comment

It is ok to write poetry and take time to heal. Stay consistent, show up for yourself.

Expand full comment
author

Love that. 💕

Expand full comment

This is a bit more general than just writing, but I would tell my younger self "you have to try it to know." Younger me spent so much time agonising over "I spent money on this course and it wasn't right for me" or "I tried this business idea and it failed." But the truth is, a lot of things in life and business can only be figured out by doing and trying! You can't work it out perfectly in your head first. You have to do it imperfectly for real, and then you get new information and you can course correct.

Expand full comment
author

Love this! I have failed at SO many things. But those failures gave me the information and direction I needed to succeed at other things!

Expand full comment
Mar 26Liked by Jorden Makelle

I would tell myself that the fulfillment I got from writing is much better than the approval of family. Don't hold back due to fear of disappointing them when that's just their factory setting. Also, to not text that one clown back. 🙄

Expand full comment
author

“Don’t hold back due to the fear of disappointing them.” …YES! This is exactly what I would’ve needed to hear when I was younger too! It’s crazy how the desire to please our parents is so ingrained. Even being older and fully aware of those habits, it’s still a struggle at times!

Lmao I think we all have “that one clown” we should not have texted back!! I would for sure have a ton of relationship advice for my younger self. But I’m sure she wouldn’t listen. 😅

Expand full comment
Mar 26Liked by Jorden Makelle

It really is a struggle! I tell someone in my family something about my life, the get that tone in their voice... (I'm pretty sure most of us know the tone) and then I have to tell myself "Chill out. You know how they are and their approval or lack thereof isn't putting food on your table, so knock it off."

Expand full comment